Extension of sanctions against Russia

On 12 June 2019 in Brussels the Permanent EU Ambassadors agreed the decision to prolong sanctions against Russia for another year until 2020 due to the temporary occupation of Crimea. It is planned that EU Council will adopt the decision next week.

The measures include EU ban on European companies to invest in Crimea, occupied by Russia and to import goods from the peninsula.

European Union introduced current sanctions against Russia in June 2014, ending on 23 June.