New Resolution of Parliamentary Assembly OSCE on Russia’s aggression in Crimea

In July 11 2018 without any regard for the dirty provocation of the state- aggressor’s delegation at the 27th Annual Session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly in Berlin, the Resolution “Continuing Violations of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol” was adopted by the majority of members.

The OSCE Parliamentary Assembly strongly condemns the illegal occupation by the Russian Federation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol, Ukraine, and reiterates its call on the Russian Federation to stop aggression against Ukraine and to fully comply with its obligations under the UN Charter, the Helsinki Final Act and other norms and principles of international law, and the OSCE principles and commitments.

The Resolution condemns violations, abuses, measures and practices of discrimination against the residents of temporarily occupied Crimea, including Crimean Tatars, as well as Ukrainians and persons belonging to other ethnic and religious groups, by the Russian occupation authorities.

The OSCE Parliamentary Assembly condemns the unlawful imposition of laws, jurisdiction and administration in occupied Crimea by the Russian Federation, and demands that the Russian Federation respect obligations under international law with regard to respecting the laws in force in Crimea prior to occupation, reads the statement.

In the Resolution, the OSCE PA “calls upon the Russian Federation to uphold all of its obligations under applicable international law as an occupying power in effective control of Crimea” and “restore enjoyment of the rights of all individuals, without any discrimination based on origin, religion or belief, and to revoke the decisions that banned cultural and religious institutions, NGOs, human rights organizations, media outlets, and to restore enjoyment of the rights of individuals belonging to ethnic communities in Crimea, in particular Ukrainians and Crimean Tatars, including to engage in cultural gatherings”.

The OSCE PA calls by the Resolution, upon the Russia Federation to halt the eradication of education in and of the Ukrainian language, restriction and suppression of cultural, religious and other manifestations of the Ukrainian identity and to ensure the availability of education I Ukrainian and Crimean Tatar Languages.

The Resolution calls on to revoke immediately the decision declaring the Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People an extremist organization and banning its activists, repeal the decision banning leaders of the Mejlis from entering Crimea and refrain from maintaining or imposing limitations on the ability of the Crimean Tatar community to conserve its representative institutions, including Mejlis and Kurultay.

Russia is called on by the resolution to create and maintain a safe and enabling environment for journalists, human rights defenders and defense lawyers to perform their work independently and without undue interference in Crimea; to end the practice of compelling Crimean residents to serve in the armed auxiliary forces of the Russian Federation, including through pressure and propaganda; to stop persecution and illegal detention of all those residents of Crimea who oppose the illegal occupation of the peninsula.

The OSCE PA calls by the Resolution upon to conduct prompt, impartial investigations into all cases of human rights violations in Crimea, including the cases of torture, abductions and enforced disappearances and to stop imposing the application of the Russia federation’s laws in occupied Crimea, as well as forced conferral of Russian citizenship to residents of Crimea in violation of international law as well as forcible deportation of Ukrainian citizens without Russian passports from Crimea.

In the Resolution Russia is called on to refrain from transferring persons in detention or social care institutions, including children, to the Russian Federation and other territories under its control. As well as it calls on to release immediately and uncondititonally Crimean activists Oleg Sentsov, Olexander Kolchenko, Mislim Aliev, Emir Usein Kuku, Vadim Siruk, Arsen Dzhepparov, Refat Alimov and other Ukrainian citizens, who have been unlawfully detained or imprisoned under the fabricated charges by the de facto authorities in occupied Crimea.